THE annual Garioch Vehicle Restoration Society “Drive It Day” run will take place on Sunday, April 17.
“Drive It Day” is annually held on the nearest Sunday to April 23, the date chosen in 2005 to commemorate the 64 cars that set off from London on April 23, 1900 on the first day of the Thousand Mile Trial, an incredible undertaking and one which the Club believes deserves an annual celebration.
The final destination of this years run is Leith Hall, the National Trust for Scotland property that was recently re-opened to the public. Apart from the historic house there also six acres of garden to explore (http://www.nts.org.uk/Property/Leith-Hall-Garden-and-Estate/).
Meet at the Beach Esplanade at 9am between the Beach Ballroom and the Bridge of Don for a photo opportunity, before setting off at 9.30am.
Owners are very welcome to join the run whether they are members of the Club or not.
The run will head off long the Boulevard to King Street, Union Street and Holburn Street, before turning right onto Great Western Road and keeps going until reaching the Royal Deeside Railway Visitor Centre at Milton of Crathes. The Society has kindly opened their Carriage Restaurant for the run again for a coffee stop and tour of their shop.
Following the stop the run continues onto the A93 turning left towards Braemar. Driving through Banchory and Kincardine O’ Neil then turn right at Dess, joining the A980 at Glencomie. Continuing on the A980, through Crossroads and Bridge of Alford. Once over the bridge, bear right and continue North through Clatt and Kennethmont to the entrance to Leith House on the right.
Once arriving at Leith House those taking part are free to take part in any of the tours offered by the N.T.S. If you intend taking a tour of the house please let organisers as the N.T.S. will have to organize guides. Full details of the route are available at www.gvrs.net