New exhibition at Insch Connection

Insch Connection Museum: Curator, Henricke Bird shows off an exhibit which originally hung in Premnay Church. Picture: Susann Brown
Insch Connection Museum: Curator, Henricke Bird shows off an exhibit which originally hung in Premnay Church. Picture: Susann Brown

After the success of last year’s ‘Williamston – An Insch Connection’ exhibition, Insch Connection Museum is featuring the kirks and manses of Insch, Premnay, Leslie, Oyne, Chapel of Garioch and Culsalmond together with the Episcopal Church of St. Drostan’s and it’s rectory. These six parishes raised the funds to build the Insch and District War Memorial Hospital in 1922.

Floor plans, site plans, photographs that have never been displayed before, documents and rare artefacts (including proof of a mysterious ancient church in Premnay Graveyard) tell the story of these beautiful buildings – and the people behind them.

The riots of Culsamond, the breakaway of the Free Church and the sad story of the family of Rev. John Stewart of Premnay Manse are some of the subjects included in the exhibition.

Visitors will learn about the life of the extraordinary Rev. John Hardie Duthie of the Episcopal Church St. Drostan’s, the church clock winders and the reason why Insch fire station replaced the Free Church. The visitors can see for themselves how beautifully some of these derelict buildings have been restored by the present owners.

The exhibition is running from Sunday, April 1 until Wednesday, October 31

Admission is on Wednesdays and Sundays between 1.30pm and 5pm.

Bookings on other days are also welcomed. Admission is free but donations are always appreciated.

For further information call 07532 223824, email insch.museum@gmail.com or visit www.inschmuseum.org.uk.