Boat Race is on for Inverurie student

Robert Gordon University Boat Club's team
Robert Gordon University Boat Club's team

An Inverurie man has been selected to represent Robert Gordon University at the upcoming 23rd Aberdeen Boat Race next month.

Scott Murray was one of 18 students selected by president of Robert Gordon University Boat Club, Erin Wyness, and Henry Pettinger-Harte, president of the Aberdeen University Boat Club, who have been assessing each rower on their technical skill and performance during races since the academic year began in September.

Scott will join Katherine Lawrie from Stonehaven; Charlotte Riley from London; Lizzie Buchan from Edinburgh; and Gary Wilson, Gregor Pittendreigh, Erin Wyness and Andrew Main all from Aberdeen, and the cox is Kathryn Duthie from Dunfermline.

Robert Gordon University will go head-to-head with Aberdeen University over a 3.5km course on the River Dee on Saturday, March 17.

In 2017, the University of Aberdeen claimed the first clean sweep in the event’s history – winning the Aberdeen Boat Race in a time of 7 minutes 3.4 seconds, along a course shortened due to weather conditions.

The University of Aberdeen also triumphed in the alumni and second crew races.

The current course record is 7 minutes and 38.6 seconds, set by Robert Gordon University in 2016.

Professor Ferdinand von Prondzynski, Principal of Robert Gordon University, said: “Each crew looks strong this year, and it is impossible to predict who will come out on top. I hope that the people of Aberdeen will join me on the riverbank to cheer them across the finish line.”