Around the N-east rurals

At Kintore SWRI’s April meeting, President Ann Marston welcomed members to their AGM and members of Kinellar SWRI who were to conduct the meeting.

Ann paid tribute to honorary member Babs Murray who passed away in March and will be sadly missed.

When the votes were counted results were: President: Mrs Simond; Vice president: Mrs Redford; Secretary: Mrs Sim; Mrs Duguid.Other committee members will be announced at a later date.

Competition results: 3 month syllabus: Liz Leil, May Forman, Frances Simond; Easter bonnet: Frances Simond, Lorraine Reid, Phyllis Morrison; Flower of the month: Phyllis Morrison, Mabel Coutts, May Forman.

After tea, raffles and the vote of thanks given by Lorraine Reid the meeting was brought to a close.

The next meeting is on Tuesday, May 6, at 7.30pm in the Public Hall.

New Deer SWRI President Eileen Morrice welcomed members and our tellers from New Pitsligo SWRI to the business meeting.

Nancy Keenan read the past year’s minutes and our treasurer Evelyn Glennie gave an up-to-date report. Competition points were counted for the year and the Buchan Trophy goes to Nancy Rennie, runner up Ethel Brown followed by Ethel Dalgarno. Trophy for Flower of the Month was won by Nancy Rennie.

Louise Baxter, of Baxter Podiatry, gave a most interesting talk on all aspects of foot care. Information booklets were handed out.

Louise judged the competitions: 3 Suggestions for Syllabus with Competitions - 1 Nancy Rennie; 2 Nancy Kennan; 3 Ethel Brown; Decorated Boiled Egg - 1 Linda Glennie; 2 Evelyn Glennie; 3 Pat Hibbit.

New Pitsligo completed the business and the results are: President and general secretary Eileen Brown; vice-president Eileen Morrice; treasurer Evelyn Glennie; minutes secretary Pat Hibbit; raffles Linda Glennie; competitions Marion Tran and Anne Dickinson are the new committee; group reporter Nancy Rennie; press reporter Ethel Dalgarno.