Tipperty SWRI ‘s annual business meeting

Mrs Isobel Elrick welcomed members and guests from Mintlaw Institute who had agreed to attend and oversee Tipperty SWRI annual business meeting.

Sunday, 20th April 2014, 9:00 am

With secretary and treasurer reports heard and approved, Mrs Margaret Henry gave an account of the last 12 months - demonstrations, organised trips, bingo night and the highlight of the year, a meal and entertainment to celebrate Tipperty SWRI Diamond Jubilee.

Isobel handed over to Mintlaw branch president Mrs Margaret Cruden, who presented the trophies to this year’s winners

Rae Rose bowl for most points was won by Mrs Irene Bartlet, runner up Mrs Lorna Strachan. Three members shared first place for the Chrissie Grieg baking trophy, Moreen Annand, Irene Bartlet and Lorna Strachan.

Isobel congratulated the trophy winners.

A varied selection of quizzes, recipes and readings kept everyone entertained while the task of appointing nominees to the new committee was completed.

President - Mrs Isobel Elrick; vice-president Mrs Greta McIntosh; secretaries Mrs Fiona McCalman and Irene Bartlet; treasurer Mrs Andrea Elrick-Stewart; press secretary Mrs Irene Bartlet; magazine secretary Mrs Adelaide O’Brien; raffle secretary Mrs Marion Duncan; points secretary Mrs Moreen Annand; tea convener Mrs Lorraine Hay.

Tea and home bakes were enjoyed before the competitions were judged: Banana loaf - 1st Marion Duncan; 2nd Chrissie Stott; 3rd Isobel Elrick; Arrangement of spring flowers - 1st Mrs Greta McIntosh; 2nd Lorna Strachan; 3rd Isobel Elrick.

After the raffle was drawn Greta gave the vote of thanks.

Isobel closed the meeting by welcoming new committee members and thanking those continuing for a further session for their support.

A cookery demonstration by Lorna Pirie will be held at Tipperty Primary School on May 8 at 7.30. All welcome.