Methlick bowlers win E J Duncan Tournament

THE Benachie Bowling Association held the annual E J Duncan Tournament at the weekend.

The knock-out stages were held at Balgownie, Newmachar, Kemnay and Dyce Bowling Clubs. The semi-finalists were Methlick against Newhills and Westhill against Inverurie.

The Westhill / Inverurie game was a closely fought contest going down to the very last bowl, with Inverurie coming out on top by three shots. Methlick had a greater margin of victory over Newhills, winning by eight shots.

In the final Methlick scored heavily on one rink with the other two rinks fairly close, however Methlick won by 14 shots in the end.

This is only the second time Methlick have won this trophy, the other being in 1988.

The team was: L Harbar, C Ligertwood, C Christie, N Barclay, W Paterson, G Barclay, B Tickner, J Barcalay and I Ligertwood. Three player also played in the 1988 win, Charlie Ligertwood, son Ian and Bill Paterson.